Skip to content
PERCH & POSTURE

ELABEST X100: the figures, and the percentages

ELABEST publishes more measured adjustment than any chair we have checked. It also publishes six percentages nobody can verify. Both facts are on the same listing.

By Sawyer V. · Published October 6, 2026

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not affect the order of the picks - the rubric does that, and here is how we are funded. Prices were last verified October 6, 2026.

What we did and did not do

Units we claim to have tested: 0. Everyone in this category says they tested twenty chairs. We have not sat in any of these, and we say so.

What we did instead: compiled every figure each manufacturer publishes, computed the fit ranges from a cited anthropometric table, and linked the source for each number so you can check the arithmetic. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, we say that rather than filling the gap. The full method, including what we cannot assess, is here.

The ELABEST X100 publishes more measured adjustment than any chair on this site: 2 inches of lumbar height, 1.6 inches of lumbar depth, 15 degrees of lumbar rotation, five armrest axes, an 18-inch extendable footrest with two angle positions, and a 4.7-inch seat-height range - with a five-year term behind it. If adjustment range is what you are buying, it is the best-documented chair we have found, and at $349.99 it is also the most expensive one here.

And the same listing contains six numbers that are not measurements. "12hrs+ fatigue reduction" certified by a body called the American Ergonomics Partnership. "31% neck strain" reduction. "38% better airflow." "25% higher elasticity." "27% denser EVA foam." A "17-point micro-adjustment system." Collaboration with "California-based orthopedic specialists."

None of those is checkable from the listing, none names a test method or a comparison baseline, and we are not going to repeat any of them as a fact. That contrast - a genuinely well-measured chair wrapped in unverifiable percentages - is what this review is about, and separating the two is the most useful thing we can do for anyone comparing this chair against a cheaper one.

What ELABEST measures

Every figure on ELABEST's own listing that is a measurement. Nothing here is estimated by us.
FigurePublished valueRubric criterion
Seat-height range18.3-23 in (4.7 in of travel)Fit range
Lumbar height travel2 in, lockableAdjustability
Lumbar depth travel1.6 in, lockable, spring-loadedAdjustability
Lumbar rotation15 degreesAdjustability
Armrest axes5 - height, width, forward, back, rotate - plus flip-upAdjustability
Footrest18 in extendable, 2 angle positionsFootrest provision
Headrest3D, no travel figure givenAdjustability
ReclineThree-stage, no degrees givenAdjustability
Rated capacity300 lbCapacity headroom
CylinderGrade 4 central columnMaterials and build
CertificationBIFMA-certified structure (protocol not named)Materials and build
Warranty5 yearsMaterials and build / value
Model numberELX100BB-

That is a strong sheet. Four of those figures are things almost nobody in this market publishes at all: of the 38 task and drafting chairs we have verified, four publish a lumbar travel figure, one publishes a footrest length, eight publish a warranty term, and nobody else publishes a lumbar rotation. How often each chair figure gets published, counted.

What ELABEST does not publish

  • Seat depth. The dimension that decides whether the front edge clears the back of your knee, and the one that is fixed on almost every chair in this price range. This is the significant omission on an otherwise detailed sheet, and it is the reason the X100 is not a pick on our tall-user page, which ranks on ceiling and depth together.
  • Seat width.
  • Headrest travel. The headrest is described as 3D and extra-wide; how far it moves in any of those three directions is not stated.
  • Recline in degrees. "Three-stage reclining mechanism" tells you it locks in three places and not where they are. The CAPOT, for less money, publishes 90, 110 and 125.
  • Which BIFMA protocol it passed. "BIFMA-certified structure" is not a protocol. X5.1 tests around a 275 lb occupant; X5.11 covers 253-400 lb and specifies a minimum seat width. They are different tests.

The six claims, and why we are not repeating them

Our editorial policy is that we republish a manufacturer's figure when it is a measurement with a stated basis, and name it as a claim when it is not. Here is where each of these falls:

What the listing asserts, and what would be needed to treat it as a figure.
The claimWhat is missing
"Certified by AEP for 12hrs+ fatigue reduction"What the American Ergonomics Partnership is. We looked and could not establish it as a recognized standards or certification body. The recognized certification body for ergonomics in the United States is the Board of Certification in Professional Ergonomics, which certifies people rather than furniture. No protocol, test population or report is named either. Compare BIFMA X5.1, where the method is published and a third-party lab summary is linkable.
"Reduces 31% neck strain"A baseline, a measurement method, and a population. 31 percent relative to which chair, measured how, on how many people?
"38% better airflow", "25% higher elasticity"A comparison chair and a test. "Than standard mesh" is not a baseline - standard mesh is not a specification.
"27% denser EVA foam"The density itself, in kg/m3. A percentage without the absolute figure cannot be compared to any other chair.
"17-point micro-adjustment system"The list of 17 points. We count 13 named adjustments across six systems on the listing - seat height, three lumbar axes, five armrest axes plus flip, footrest extension and angle, and a three-stage recline - with a headrest whose axes are not specified. Our count is in the table above so you can check it.
"Collaboration with California-based orthopedic specialists"Names, or a published outcome. This is also the pattern behind "doctor recommended" on product listings generally - a marketing phrase rather than a credential.

To be clear about what this does and does not mean. It does not mean the chair is bad - the measured figures above are real and they are better than its competitors'. It does not mean the claims are false; we have no way to know. It means you should buy this chair for the 2 inches of lumbar travel and the five-year warranty, not for the 31 percent. One of those you can check against a competitor. The other is a sentence.

The arithmetic we can run

Cost per warranty year. ELABEST publishes five years, which makes the figure computable - the live price is in the card below, and at $349.99 it works out near $70 per warranty year. For context, the best figure on this site is about $40 per warranty year and the worst is about $190, from a 700 lb chair with a one-year term. So the X100 sits in the better half of the field on value-per-year despite being the most expensive chair here, which is exactly the kind of thing a sticker price hides.

Fit, from the published range. An 18.3 to 23-inch seat-height range covers a stature band of roughly 5 ft 5 in to beyond 6 ft 4 in on our arithmetic - seat height is your popliteal height plus about an inch for shoes. The 23-inch ceiling is generous; the 18.3-inch floor is ordinary, and a user under about 5 ft 4 in will be at the bottom of the travel with a footrest doing the real work. Our table computes the band from your height.

Capacity headroom. 300 lb against the 275 lb occupant basis behind ANSI/BIFMA X5.1 gives ordinary headroom - our working rule is that a chair suits a user up to about 80 percent of its rating, so call it 240 lb. If capacity is your binding constraint this is not the chair; big and tall ranks 400 to 700 lb chairs on rating and seat width.

Which pages this chair wins, and which it does not

Useful as a summary, because the X100 appears on several of our rankings in very different positions and the reason is always the same: the figures it publishes are superb and the figure it omits is seat depth.

  • Wins [neck and shoulder pain](/chairs/for-neck-and-shoulder-pain) - five published armrest axes, the most on this site, and armrest position is what sets your shoulder.
  • Wins [scoliosis](/chairs/for-scoliosis) - same five axes, which is the closest the market gets to setting each side independently.
  • Second on [a herniated disc](/chairs/for-herniated-disc) - the only chair here publishing lumbar DEPTH as well as height, beaten only on price and completeness by the CAPOT.
  • Fifth on [spinal stenosis](/chairs/for-spinal-stenosis) - because that page ranks published recline in degrees, and "three-stage" is not degrees.
  • Not a pick on [chairs for tall people](/chairs/for-tall-people) - a 23-inch ceiling is good; without a published seat depth there is nothing to rank a long femur against.
  • Fourth on [pregnancy](/chairs/for-pregnancy) - the footrest and the moving lumbar help; the unpublished, unadjustable seat depth is the ceiling on how high it can place.

Should you buy it?

Buy it if adjustment range is the thing you need and you have the budget. Nothing else we have verified publishes five armrest axes, lumbar movement in three directions, and a footrest length. If you are shopping because the chair you have cannot be set up to fit you, this is the chair with the most places to put things.

Buy the CAPOT instead if you want to check the fit before your money leaves. It is about a third less, it answers all six of our rubric criteria - the only chair on this site that does - and it publishes a 19.3-inch seat depth, a 20-inch seat width, 400 lb, a named BIFMA X5.1 certification, a five-year warranty and its recline in degrees. It has less adjustment and more disclosure. Our full CAPOT review.

Buy the COLAMY Atlas instead if seat depth is your problem specifically. It is the only chair on this site with a seat pan you can slide - 15.75 to 17.72 inches - which is the one dimension the X100 does not address at all.

And if what you actually want to know is whether it is comfortable after six months, we are the wrong source and we will say so rather than improvise. We have not sat in this chair. Whether 17 adjustment points is useful or just 17 things to get wrong, whether the spring-loaded lumbar tracking works as described, whether the mesh holds its tension - those need someone who owns one. The full list of what this method cannot reach is published here.

The chair, and two alternatives

Ranked on the published rubric. Tap a row for the full write-up; the price button goes straight to Amazon. Every figure in the write-ups is the manufacturer's own published specification, linked at the source. We have not sat in any of these.

Scores out of 10. What ELABEST measures, and what it only asserts.
#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
ELABEST X100 Mesh Chair with Footrest

ELABEST X100 Mesh Chair with Footrest

The Chair Under Review

More measured adjustment than anything here8.0
$349.99 - View on Amazon

#ad disclosure · October 6, 2026

2
CAPOT Ergonomic Mesh Chair

CAPOT Ergonomic Mesh Chair

The Alternative That Answers Everything

All six criteria, for less money9.8
$159.99 - View on Amazon

#ad disclosure · October 6, 2026

3
COLAMY Atlas Mesh Chair with 4D Arms and Sliding Seat

COLAMY Atlas Mesh Chair with 4D Arms and Sliding Seat

The Alternative With a Sliding Seat

A seat depth that moves7.8
$289.99 - View on Amazon

#ad disclosure · October 6, 2026

01 · The Chair Under Review

ELABEST X100 Mesh Chair with Footrest

8.0/10 · scored on the published rubric

Five separately adjustable systems and a five-year warranty. The 18 in extendable footrest is a real footrest, not a foot ring, and it is the only one in our set whose length is published.

Why you might not: $349.99 makes it the most expensive chair on the site, and at $70 per warranty year the CAPOT is better value on our own arithmetic.

Published figures, from the ELABEST listing. Blank rows below are figures the manufacturer does not publish.
Seat height18.3-23 in
Rated capacity300 lb
Footrestadjustable
Warranty5 years
Cost per warranty year$70.00

Adjustments published (6): seat height (18.3-23 in); lumbar height (2 in), depth (1.6 in) and 15-degree rotation, lockable; 5D armrests (height, width, forward, back, rotate), plus flip-up; 3D headrest (axes not specified); 18 in extendable footrest, two angles; three-stage recline.

Not published by the manufacturer: seat depth; seat width; headrest travel. We have flagged these rather than guessed.

How this score was built
  • Fit range8/10
  • Adjustability10/10
  • Capacity headroom8/10
  • Materials & warranty9/10
  • Spec coverage5/10

The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

ELABEST X100 Mesh Chair with Footrest
$349.99 - View on Amazon

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad how this is funded

02 · The Alternative That Answers Everything

CAPOT Ergonomic Mesh Chair

9.8/10 · scored on the published rubric

The only chair on this site that answers all six rubric criteria from published figures: seat range, depth, width, 400 lb capacity, a five-year warranty and eight levels of 2 in lumbar travel. At $199.99 that is $40 per warranty year.

Why you might not: It tops out at 22.05 in. If you are over about 6 ft 2 in you will run out of seat height, whatever the listing's stated window says.

Published figures, from the CAPOT listing. Blank rows below are figures the manufacturer does not publish.
Seat height18.5-22.05 in
Seat depth19.3 in
Seat width20 in
Rated capacity400 lb
Warranty5 years
Cost per warranty year$32.00
Maker's stated user height5 ft 5 in to 6 ft 2 in

Adjustments published (5): seat height (18.5-22.05 in); lumbar depth (2 in over 8 levels); backrest lock at 90, 110 and 125 degrees; headrest height and depth; armrests flip up 90 degrees.

How this score was built
  • Fit range9/10
  • Adjustability10/10
  • Capacity headroom10/10
  • Materials & warranty10/10
  • Spec coverage10/10

The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

CAPOT Ergonomic Mesh Chair
$159.99 - View on Amazon

$199.99 list, 20% off

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad how this is funded

03 · The Alternative With a Sliding Seat

COLAMY Atlas Mesh Chair with 4D Arms and Sliding Seat

7.8/10 · scored on the published rubric

The only chair on this site that publishes a seat depth you can CHANGE - a sliding pan from 15.75 to 17.72 in - which is the one dimension almost every other chair fixes at the factory.

Why you might not: A 21.06 in ceiling is low for a tall user, and COLAMY names a BIFMA certification, a headrest, a lumbar support and 4D arms without publishing a single travel figure for any of them.

Published figures, from the COLAMY listing. Blank rows below are figures the manufacturer does not publish.
Seat height16.73-21.06 in
Seat depth17.72 in
Seat width19.88 in
Thickness6.3 in
Rated capacity300 lb

Adjustments published (6): seat height (16.73-21.06 in, Class 4 gas lift); seat depth (sliding seat, 15.75-17.72 in); 4D armrests; 4-position tilt lock with tension adjustment; headrest; lumbar support.

Not published by the manufacturer: warranty term; headrest travel; lumbar travel; armrest travel; recline range in degrees; which BIFMA protocol was passed. We have flagged these rather than guessed.

How this score was built
  • Fit range8/10
  • Adjustability9/10
  • Capacity headroom8/10
  • Materials & warranty6/10
  • Spec coverage8/10

The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

COLAMY Atlas Mesh Chair with 4D Arms and Sliding Seat
$289.99 - View on Amazon

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad how this is funded

Questions people actually ask

Is the ELABEST X100 worth $350?
On published figures it is the most adjustable chair we have verified - 2 in of lumbar height, 1.6 in of lumbar depth, 15 degrees of lumbar rotation, five armrest axes and an 18 in extendable footrest - with a five-year warranty, which works out near $70 per warranty year against a site-wide best of about $40 and worst of about $190. Whether that adjustment is worth it to you depends on whether your current chair's problem is adjustment. We have not sat in it.
What is the ELABEST X100 seat height?
18.3 to 23 inches, published - 4.7 inches of travel. That suits a stature band of roughly 5 ft 5 in upwards on our arithmetic; below about 5 ft 4 in you will be at the bottom of the travel and a footrest does the real work.
What is the ELABEST X100 seat depth?
ELABEST does not publish it, and that is the significant gap on an otherwise detailed sheet. Seat depth decides whether the front edge of the seat clears the back of your knee, it is fixed on almost every chair in this price range, and only 10 of the 38 chairs we checked publish it at all.
Does the ELABEST X100 have a headrest?
Yes - the listing describes a 3D extra-wide headrest. It does not publish how far the headrest moves in any direction, which is why the chair is not the headrest pick on our neck-and-shoulder page even though it wins that page on armrests.
Is the ELABEST X100 certified?
The listing says "BIFMA-certified structure" holding 300 lb without naming the protocol, and a Grade 4 central column. "BIFMA-certified" is not a test: X5.1 runs around a 275 lb occupant basis, X5.11 covers 253-400 lb and specifies a minimum seat width. The listing also claims certification by a body called the American Ergonomics Partnership, which we could not establish as a recognized standards organization and are not treating as a credential.
How long is the ELABEST X100 warranty?
Five years, described on the listing as "5-year satisfaction care". Eight of the 38 chairs we checked publish a warranty term at all, and five years is at the top end of this field - it is what makes the cost-per-warranty-year figure computable for this chair.
Have you tested the ELABEST X100?
No. We have not sat in it and nothing on this page is a first-hand impression. Every measurement here is read off ELABEST's own listing, which is linked on the card, and every calculation is shown. The six unverifiable percentages on that listing are named as claims rather than repeated as figures.

Read next

Sources