Best office chairs for a herniated or bulging disc
Every chair claims lumbar support. Four of the 38 we verified publish how far it travels - and travel is what decides whether it lands at your level or someone else's.
By Sawyer V. · Published October 6, 2026
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not affect the order of the picks - the rubric does that, and here is how we are funded. Prices were last verified October 6, 2026.
What we did and did not do
Units we claim to have tested: 0. Everyone in this category says they tested twenty chairs. We have not sat in any of these, and we say so.
What we did instead: compiled every figure each manufacturer publishes, computed the fit ranges from a cited anthropometric table, and linked the source for each number so you can check the arithmetic. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, we say that rather than filling the gap. The full method, including what we cannot assess, is here.

Buy the CAPOT. It publishes 2 inches of lumbar travel over eight discrete levels, which means you can put the support at the height of your own curve rather than at the height of an average torso - and it is one of only four chairs out of the 38 we have verified that publish that figure at all. It also answers all six of our rubric criteria, which no other chair on this site does, and carries a five-year warranty.
If you want control over how hard it pushes as well as where it sits, the ELABEST X100 is the only chair here that gives you both - 2 inches of lumbar height and 1.6 inches of lumbar depth, both lockable. It costs roughly double and it is the only published depth adjustment in our entire set.
That is the whole recommendation, and it is deliberately narrow. A chair is not a treatment for a disc problem and nothing on this page claims to be. What a chair can be is adjustable enough to stop making one specific thing worse - and the only part of that you can verify from a product listing before your money leaves is whether the support moves, and how far.
Quick picks
Ranked on the published rubric. Tap a row for the full write-up; the price button goes straight to Amazon. Every figure in the write-ups is the manufacturer's own published specification, linked at the source. We have not sat in any of these.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() CAPOT Ergonomic Mesh Chair Best Overall | 2 in of lumbar travel, 8 levels | 10.0 | $159.99 - View on Amazon #ad disclosure · October 6, 2026 |
| 2 | ![]() ELABEST X100 Mesh Chair with Footrest Only Published Lumbar DEPTH Control | Setting how far it pushes | 8.4 | $349.99 - View on Amazon #ad disclosure · October 6, 2026 |
| 3 | ![]() COLAMY Atlas Mesh Chair with 4D Arms and Sliding Seat Best Seat-Depth Adjustment | A seat pan that slides 2 in | 7.6 | $289.99 - View on Amazon #ad disclosure · October 6, 2026 |
| 4 | ![]() Jobri BetterPosture Saddle Chair Best Forward-Tilting Seat | Holding lordosis without a bump | 6.4 | $175.00 - View on Amazon #ad disclosure · October 6, 2026 |
| 5 | ![]() DRAGONN by VIVO Adjustable Kneeling Chair with Back Support Best Active-Seating Option | A 10 in range plus a backrest | 7.0 | $139.99 - View on Amazon #ad disclosure · October 6, 2026 |
| — | ![]() Modway Articulate Mesh Chair Skip This If Lumbar Is Why You Are Buying | A 6 in cushion and nothing else | 5.4 | $129.49 - View on Amazon #ad disclosure · October 6, 2026 |
01 · Best Overall
CAPOT Ergonomic Mesh Chair
10.0/10 · scored on the published rubric
The only chair on this site that answers all six rubric criteria from published figures: seat range, depth, width, 400 lb capacity, a five-year warranty and eight levels of 2 in lumbar travel. At $199.99 that is $40 per warranty year.
Why you might not: It tops out at 22.05 in. If you are over about 6 ft 2 in you will run out of seat height, whatever the listing's stated window says.
| Seat height | 18.5-22.05 in |
|---|---|
| Seat depth | 19.3 in |
| Seat width | 20 in |
| Rated capacity | 400 lb |
| Warranty | 5 years |
| Cost per warranty year | $32.00 |
| Maker's stated user height | 5 ft 5 in to 6 ft 2 in |
Adjustments published (5): seat height (18.5-22.05 in); lumbar depth (2 in over 8 levels); backrest lock at 90, 110 and 125 degrees; headrest height and depth; armrests flip up 90 degrees.
How this score was built
- Fit range10/10
- Adjustability10/10
- Capacity headroom10/10
- Materials & warranty10/10
- Spec coverage10/10
The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

02 · Only Published Lumbar DEPTH Control
ELABEST X100 Mesh Chair with Footrest
8.4/10 · scored on the published rubric
Five separately adjustable systems and a five-year warranty. The 18 in extendable footrest is a real footrest, not a foot ring, and it is the only one in our set whose length is published.
Why you might not: $349.99 makes it the most expensive chair on the site, and at $70 per warranty year the CAPOT is better value on our own arithmetic.
| Seat height | 18.3-23 in |
|---|---|
| Rated capacity | 300 lb |
| Footrest | adjustable |
| Warranty | 5 years |
| Cost per warranty year | $70.00 |
Adjustments published (6): seat height (18.3-23 in); lumbar height (2 in), depth (1.6 in) and 15-degree rotation, lockable; 5D armrests (height, width, forward, back, rotate), plus flip-up; 3D headrest (axes not specified); 18 in extendable footrest, two angles; three-stage recline.
Not published by the manufacturer: seat depth; seat width; headrest travel. We have flagged these rather than guessed.
How this score was built
- Fit range10/10
- Adjustability10/10
- Capacity headroom8/10
- Materials & warranty9/10
- Spec coverage5/10
The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad how this is funded
03 · Best Seat-Depth Adjustment
COLAMY Atlas Mesh Chair with 4D Arms and Sliding Seat
7.6/10 · scored on the published rubric
The only chair on this site that publishes a seat depth you can CHANGE - a sliding pan from 15.75 to 17.72 in - which is the one dimension almost every other chair fixes at the factory.
Why you might not: A 21.06 in ceiling is low for a tall user, and COLAMY names a BIFMA certification, a headrest, a lumbar support and 4D arms without publishing a single travel figure for any of them.
| Seat height | 16.73-21.06 in |
|---|---|
| Seat depth | 17.72 in |
| Seat width | 19.88 in |
| Thickness | 6.3 in |
| Rated capacity | 300 lb |
Adjustments published (6): seat height (16.73-21.06 in, Class 4 gas lift); seat depth (sliding seat, 15.75-17.72 in); 4D armrests; 4-position tilt lock with tension adjustment; headrest; lumbar support.
Not published by the manufacturer: warranty term; headrest travel; lumbar travel; armrest travel; recline range in degrees; which BIFMA protocol was passed. We have flagged these rather than guessed.
How this score was built
- Fit range7/10
- Adjustability9/10
- Capacity headroom8/10
- Materials & warranty6/10
- Spec coverage8/10
The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad how this is funded
04 · Best Forward-Tilting Seat
Jobri BetterPosture Saddle Chair
6.4/10 · scored on the published rubric
A tilting seat pan, which is the adjustment that actually decides whether a saddle suits your hips, on a polished aluminum five-point base.
Why you might not: 250 lb is the lowest published capacity among the saddles, and it costs nearly twice the Antlu that holds 400 lb.
| Seat height | 21-28 in |
|---|---|
| Rated capacity | 250 lb |
Adjustments published (3): seat height (21-28 in); seat tilt; 360-degree swivel.
Not published by the manufacturer: seat depth; seat width; warranty term. We have flagged these rather than guessed.
How this score was built
- Fit range6/10
- Adjustability7/10
- Capacity headroom6/10
- Materials & warranty7/10
- Spec coverage6/10
The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad how this is funded
05 · Best Active-Seating Option
DRAGONN by VIVO Adjustable Kneeling Chair with Back Support
7.0/10 · scored on the published rubric
A 10 in span to 31 in and a backrest, which is the combination almost nothing else in this category publishes. It is the kneeling chair that can also work at a tall desk.
Why you might not: The backrest position is not specified anywhere in the published spec, so whether it lands on your lumbar curve is not something we can tell you in advance.
| Seat height | 21-31 in |
|---|---|
| Rated capacity | 250 lb |
Adjustments published (3): seat height (21-31 in); backrest; casters.
Not published by the manufacturer: seat depth; backrest adjustment range; warranty term. We have flagged these rather than guessed.
How this score was built
- Fit range7/10
- Adjustability8/10
- Capacity headroom7/10
- Materials & warranty7/10
- Spec coverage6/10
The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad how this is funded
Skip This If Lumbar Is Why You Are Buying
Modway Articulate Mesh Chair
5.4/10 · scored on the published rubric
A published 6 in seat cushion, which is the thickest on this site by some distance, and 331 lb behind it.
Why you might not: Passive lumbar support only - nothing to adjust - so if your lower back needs a specific depth of support this is not the chair.
| Seat height | 18-22 in |
|---|---|
| Thickness | 6 in |
| Rated capacity | 331 lb |
Adjustments published (4): seat height (18-22 in); height-adjustable armrests; tilt and lock; 360-degree swivel.
Not published by the manufacturer: seat depth; seat width; warranty term. We have flagged these rather than guessed.
How this score was built
- Fit range4/10
- Adjustability4/10
- Capacity headroom9/10
- Materials & warranty6/10
- Spec coverage4/10
The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad how this is funded
Which of our condition pages you actually want
These five pages rank on five different figures and recommend different chairs. One of them recommends roughly the opposite of this one.
| If your problem is | Read | Because it ranks on |
|---|---|---|
| General lower-back ache from sitting | For lower-back pain | Published lumbar adjustment travel |
| Nerve pain radiating down a leg | For sciatica | Seat depth, pressure distribution, recline |
| Spinal stenosis, better when you lean forward | For spinal stenosis | Published recline range against the OSHA 15-degree minimum |
| A herniated, bulging or degenerating disc | For a herniated disc | Whether the lumbar support moves, and how far |
| Neck, shoulder or upper-back pain | For neck and shoulder pain | Published headrest and armrest travel |
The important pairing: a disc problem and spinal stenosis often have opposite directional preferences. OrthoInfo describes stenosis as easing when you lean forward; its herniated-disk page instead advises making activity "slow and controlled (steady), especially bending forward and lifting". Those two sentences point at different chairs, which is why we wrote two pages rather than averaging them into one.
How we ranked these
- Fit range - on this page that is published lumbar adjustment travel, in inches or in discrete levels. A chair that publishes 2 inches over eight levels scores top. A chair that says "lumbar support" and nothing else cannot score here, however good it may be.
- Adjustability - countable published mechanisms, weighted towards the three that change spinal loading rather than convenience: lumbar depth, seat-pan tilt or slide, and recline lock positions. Flip-up armrests are a desk-clearance feature, not a spine feature, and they are scored as such.
- Capacity headroom - rated capacity against a 275 lb reference, the occupant basis behind ANSI/BIFMA X5.1.
- Materials and warranty - warranty term, cylinder class, base material, named certification. Two picks here carry five-year terms, which is unusual in this field.
- Spec coverage - how many of the six rubric figures the maker publishes. On this page it decides fourth place onward, because the active-seating picks publish an angle and a height range and very little else.
The four chairs that publish lumbar travel
| Chair | Lumbar height travel | Lumbar depth travel | Lockable? | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAPOT (rank 1) | 2 in over 8 levels | Not published | Locks at 8 levels | 5 years |
| ELABEST X100 (rank 2) | 2 in | 1.6 in - the only one | Yes, both axes | 5 years |
| ErGear drafting chair | 2 in | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Kensaker drafting chair | 2 in (backrest height) | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Four chairs. That is the entire market, as far as published figures go, out of 38 chairs we looked at one listing at a time. Two of them are drafting chairs built for a standing-height desk, which leaves two realistic choices for a normal desk - and that is why this page is short on alternatives rather than padded out with ten chairs that all say "ergonomic lumbar support".
Why travel is the figure and not thickness
Your lumbar curve sits at a specific height on your back - roughly belt height, lower than most people expect, and the height depends on your torso length rather than your overall height. A molded bump in a fixed position supports whoever happens to have their curve at that height. For everybody else it is pressure in the wrong place, and there is no adjustment because there is no mechanism.
OSHA's chair guidance does not ask for "lumbar support". It asks for "a lumbar support that is height adjustable so it can be appropriately placed to fit the lower back". That is a specification, most of this market does not meet it, and it is the single most useful sentence in the whole OSHA eTool for anyone shopping with a disc problem. The longer version of this argument is here.
The seat pan is the second variable, and almost nobody adjusts it
OSHA also asks for a seat pan that is "depth adjustable to adequately support taller users while allowing shorter users to sit with their back fully supported" - and the second half of that sentence is the one that matters here. If your seat is too deep for your thigh, you sit forward off the backrest, and the lumbar support you just paid for is not touching you at all.
Of 38 chairs we verified, 10 publish a seat depth at all and exactly one publishes a seat depth you can change: the COLAMY Atlas at rank 3, with a sliding pan from 15.75 to 17.72 inches. That is a two-inch adjustment on a dimension that is welded shut on every other chair under $300. Work out your own maximum seat depth here - it is your buttock-popliteal length minus two inches of clearance.
The forward-tilt route, stated honestly
Ranks 4 and 5 are a different idea rather than a cheaper version of ranks 1 to 3. A saddle stool and a kneeling chair both open the angle between your trunk and your thighs, which rotates your pelvis forward so the lumbar curve holds itself without anything pushing on it. No bump, no travel figure needed - the geometry does the work.
Whether that direction suits a disc problem is a clinical question and we are not going to answer it. What we can tell you is that it is a real alternative mechanism rather than a gimmick, that the Jobri publishes a tilting seat so you can tune the angle rather than accept one, and that you should expect an adjustment period. How the saddle version works and how the kneeling version works are both written up in full, including who they do not suit.
The cheapest useful thing on this page is not a chair
If you already own a chair whose bump is in the wrong place, a lumbar cushion you can strap lower is the one thing the built-in version cannot do - and it is twenty dollars against two hundred. One cushion in our set publishes its apex thickness (4.5 inches, with a stated 100-200 lb user band, because foam compresses). Cushions ranked on that figure here.
Where this page stops
Everything above describes what a seat does mechanically, and every figure in it comes from a manufacturer's own published specification or a named standard. None of it is medical advice. There is no clinician on this site, nothing here is medically reviewed, and we do not know what is causing your symptoms.
A chair changes how your body is loaded while you sit in it. It does not treat anything. Pain that is severe, worsening, radiating into a limb, or accompanied by numbness, tingling, weakness or any change in bladder or bowel function is a reason to see a clinician promptly - not a reason to buy a chair. "Doctor recommended" on a product listing is a marketing phrase, not a credential, and we will not repeat it for them.
What we looked at and left out
Exclusions are explainable or they are not exclusions. Each of these failed a published disqualifier, and the reason is the spec, not a preference.
| Product | Why it is not ranked |
|---|---|
| SIHOO M18 | SIHOO publishes no seat-height range, no seat depth and no seat width for the M18. It is a well-specified chair in other respects - 331 lb, a three-year warranty, a BIFMA pass - and on a page that ranks by body fit there is nothing to rank it on. [Our full write-up is here](/reviews/sihoo-m18). |
| TRALT Ergonomic Chair with Adjustable Lumbar | The listing says "adjustable lumbar" and publishes no travel figure, which on this page is the single thing we are ranking. A good chair measured against the wrong criterion - it wins [our petite-user page](/chairs/for-petite-users) on the figures it does give. |
| NOBLEWELL Mesh Chair with Independent Headrest, Lumbar and Arms | Calls its lumbar support "independently adjustable" - better language than most - and still publishes no travel. It is the top pick on [our stenosis page](/chairs/for-spinal-stenosis), which ranks on recline rather than lumbar travel, and it wins there outright. |
Questions people actually ask
What office chair is best for a herniated disc?
Is sitting bad for a herniated disc?
How do I know if my lumbar support is in the right place?
Should I get a kneeling chair for a herniated disc?
Do expensive chairs have better lumbar support?
Have you tested these chairs?
Read next
Sources
Every figure on this page traces to one of these. Product specifications come from the manufacturer's own listing; prices come from a live lookup and carry the date they were verified.
- Herniated Disk in the Lower Back - OrthoInfo, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
- OSHA eTool, Computer Workstations - Chairs
- OSHA eTool, Computer Workstations - Good Working Positions
- Pheasant & Haslegrave, Bodyspace: Anthropometry, Ergonomics and the Design of Work - percentile table as tabulated by RoyMech
- ANSI/BIFMA X5.1, General Purpose Office Chairs - test summary (Micom Laboratories)