GABRYLLY GY01: the chair that publishes its seat depth
Ten of the 38 chairs we checked publish a seat depth. This one publishes 20 inches, a 23.6-inch ceiling and the user-height window it was built for.
By Sawyer V. · Published October 6, 2026
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not affect the order of the picks - the rubric does that, and here is how we are funded. Prices were last verified October 6, 2026.
What we did and did not do
Units we claim to have tested: 0. Everyone in this category says they tested twenty chairs. We have not sat in any of these, and we say so.
What we did instead: compiled every figure each manufacturer publishes, computed the fit ranges from a cited anthropometric table, and linked the source for each number so you can check the arithmetic. Where a manufacturer does not publish a figure, we say that rather than filling the gap. The full method, including what we cannot assess, is here.
Buy the GABRYLLY if you are tall, because it publishes the two figures a tall user needs and almost nothing else does: a 23.6-inch seat-height ceiling and a 20-inch seat depth. At $219.50 it is the pick on our tall-user page, and the reason is not that it is the most adjustable chair here - it is that GABRYLLY told you the dimension you cannot change after you buy it.
Seat depth is fixed on nearly every chair under $300, it decides whether the front edge of the seat presses the back of your knee, and 10 of the 38 chairs we have verified publish it. A long femur needs a long pan and there is no adjustment to make; a listing that gives you a seat-height range and no depth has told you the adjustable dimension and withheld the permanent one.
GABRYLLY also does something rarer: it tells you who the chair was built for. The listing recommends it "for users between 5'2" and 6'1"" and says so twice, including a note asking you to consult them before buying if you are unsure. Five chairs out of 38 publish a user-height window at all. It is not a substitute for your own measurement - but a maker that states a band is a maker that can be held to it.
What GABRYLLY publishes
| Figure | Published value | Rubric criterion |
|---|---|---|
| Seat height | 18.9-23.6 in (4.7 in of travel) | Fit range |
| Seat depth | 20 in | Fit range |
| Seat width | 20.5 in | Fit range |
| Overall dimensions | 24.5 in W x 27.5 in D x 46-56.4 in H, including arms | - |
| Maker's user-height window | 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 1 in | Fit range (stated) |
| Rated capacity | 300 lb | Capacity headroom |
| Recline | 90-120 degrees, with tilt lock | Adjustability |
| Armrests | Flip-up through 45 degrees, button-operated | Adjustability |
| Headrest | Adjustable, no travel figure given | Adjustability |
| Support points | 4 - head, back, hips, hands | - |
| Materials | Mesh back and mesh seat | Materials and build |
| Base | Five-pointed, PU casters | Materials and build |
| Warranty | 3 years | Materials and build / value |
| Model number | GY01 | - |
That is nine of our rubric's figures answered, which puts it second only to the CAPOT among chairs on this site. It is also, notably, a mesh seat rather than a mesh back over a foam pan - uncommon at this price, and it means the seat does not add a foam thickness to your seat height the way a 6-inch cushion does. What mesh and foam each actually change.
What GABRYLLY does not publish
- Lumbar adjustment travel. The listing names "a proper lumbar support" and lists the lumbar among the things you adjust. How far it moves is not stated, and that is the figure that decides whether it can reach your curve rather than someone else's. Four chairs out of 38 publish it; this is not one of them.
- Headrest travel. Same pattern. The headrest adjusts; by how much is not said. Three products on this entire site publish a headrest movement as a number, and one of them is a $48 clamp-on accessory.
- A named certification. No BIFMA protocol, no SGS reference, no cylinder class. The CAPOT at a similar price names BIFMA X5.1 explicitly.
- Armrest axes beyond flip-up. The arms fold up 45 degrees to clear a desk, which is a space feature. Whether they adjust in height, width or angle is not published - so if armrest position is your problem, the chairs that count their axes are here.
Those four gaps have one shape in common. GABRYLLY publishes the dimensions and not the adjustments. The CAPOT does the opposite in part - it publishes 2 inches of lumbar travel over eight levels and a headrest that moves in two axes - and the ELABEST X100 goes further again. Which pattern you want depends on whether your problem is *fitting the chair to your body* or *fitting the support to your spine*.
Running the fit arithmetic on its own claim
GABRYLLY states 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 1 in. Check it against the published range rather than taking it:
Seat height and depth by your height
| Your height | Seat height | Max seat depth | Standing-desk height |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5'0" | 15-16.6 in | 15.6 in | 37.8 in |
| 5'2" | 15.7-17.3 in | 16.7 in | 39.1 in |
| 5'4" | 16.3-17.9 in | 16.7 in | 40.2 in |
| 5'6" | 17-18.6 in | 17.7 in | 41.4 in |
| 5'8" | 17.9-19.5 in | 19.9 in | 42.8 in |
| 5'10" | 18.4-20 in | 18.8 in | 44.2 in |
| 6'0" | 19.1-20.7 in | 19.8 in | 45.6 in |
| 6'2" | 19.5-21.1 in | 20.4 in | 46.5 in |
| 6'4" | 19.5-21.1 in | 20.4 in | 46.5 in |
| 6'6" | 19.5-21.1 in | 20.4 in | 46.5 in |
At 5 ft 2 in you want a seat around 15.0 to 16.6 inches. The GABRYLLY's floor is 18.9 inches - more than two inches too high, and no adjustment closes it. So the bottom of GABRYLLY's own stated window is outside the chair's own published range, and a 5 ft 2 in user needs a footrest for this chair to work at all. That is not a defect so much as the reason we check: at 5 ft 2 in the chair is a chair-plus-footrest purchase, and the listing does not say so.
At 6 ft 1 in you want a seat around 19.2 to 20.8 inches and can use a pan up to about 20.1 inches deep. The chair gives 23.6 inches of ceiling and a 20-inch pan: comfortably inside, with travel left. On the published figures the chair is genuinely good from about 5 ft 7 in to 6 ft 4 in - a band noticeably taller than the one GABRYLLY advertises, which is why it tops our tall-user page rather than our petite page.
Cost per warranty year. Three years at $219.50 is about $73 per warranty year - mid-field, against a site-wide best near $40 and worst near $190. The CAPOT's five-year term at a lower price beats it on this measure, which is the single strongest argument for the alternative.
The 20-inch seat depth, and who it is wrong for
Worth being specific, because a generous pan is not universally good. Your maximum usable seat depth is your buttock-popliteal length minus about 2 inches of clearance. At the 95th-percentile male leg length that maximum is around 20.4 inches, so a 20-inch pan is close to ideal. At 5 ft 4 in it is around 17 inches - and a 20-inch pan will press behind your knee, which is the exact contact OSHA's chair guidance tells you to avoid.
So the published depth cuts both ways and that is the point of publishing it: you can tell, before you buy, that this is a chair for a long femur. The TRALT publishes 17.3 inches and wins our petite page for precisely the reason it loses here.
Should you buy it?
Buy it if you are between about 5 ft 7 in and 6 ft 4 in and you want to verify the fit before paying. On published fit figures it is the best chair on this site for that body, and the 23.6-inch ceiling with a 20-inch pan and a mesh seat is a combination nothing else here matches.
Buy the CAPOT instead if build disclosure and lumbar control matter more than ceiling. It names BIFMA X5.1, rates 400 lb, carries a five-year warranty, publishes 2 inches of lumbar travel over eight levels and a headrest that moves in height and depth - and it answers all six of our criteria, which no other chair here does. Its ceiling is 22.05 inches, which is the trade. Our full CAPOT review.
Buy the ELABEST X100 instead if you need adjustment rather than dimensions - five armrest axes, lumbar movement in three directions, an 18-inch footrest. It costs $130 more and does not publish a seat depth at all. Our full X100 review.
Skip all three if you are under about 5 ft 5 in. The floors in this group are 18.3 to 18.9 inches and your target is nearer 16. That is a petite-chair question, and the honest answer there is usually a cheaper chair plus a footrest.
And if what decides your purchase is how it feels after a month, read someone who owns one. We have not sat in this chair. Whether a mesh seat pan stays taut, whether the flip-up arms rattle, whether the headrest lands on your neck or your shoulders - none of that is on a spec sheet and we are not going to invent it. What this method cannot assess, in full.
The chair, and two alternatives
Ranked on the published rubric. Tap a row for the full write-up; the price button goes straight to Amazon. Every figure in the write-ups is the manufacturer's own published specification, linked at the source. We have not sat in any of these.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() GABRYLLY Ergonomic Mesh Office Chair The Chair Under Review | A 20 in deep seat, a 23.6 in ceiling | 8.6 | $189.91 - View on Amazon #ad disclosure · October 6, 2026 |
| 2 | ![]() CAPOT Ergonomic Mesh Chair The Alternative With a Named Standard | BIFMA X5.1, 400 lb, 5 years | 9.8 | $159.99 - View on Amazon #ad disclosure · October 6, 2026 |
| 3 | ![]() ELABEST X100 Mesh Chair with Footrest The Alternative With More Adjustment | Measured travel on everything | 8.0 | $349.99 - View on Amazon #ad disclosure · October 6, 2026 |
01 · The Chair Under Review
GABRYLLY Ergonomic Mesh Office Chair
8.6/10 · scored on the published rubric
Five of six rubric criteria answered with published figures: 18.9-23.6 in seat, 20.5 in wide, 20 in deep, 300 lb, three-year warranty. Its 23.6 in ceiling is the highest of any ordinary task chair here, which is what makes it the tall-user pick.
Why you might not: A 20 in seat depth is long. Our arithmetic says that is too deep for anyone under about 5 ft 8 in - the front edge will reach the back of your knees, which is the thing OSHA specifically tells you to avoid.
| Seat height | 18.9-23.6 in |
|---|---|
| Seat depth | 20 in |
| Seat width | 20.5 in |
| Rated capacity | 300 lb |
| Warranty | 3 years |
| Cost per warranty year | $63.30 |
| Maker's stated user height | 5 ft 2 in to 6 ft 1 in |
Adjustments published (4): seat height (18.9-23.6 in); flip-up armrests (45 degrees); recline 90-120 degrees; headrest.
Not published by the manufacturer: lumbar adjustment range. We have flagged these rather than guessed.
How this score was built
- Fit range10/10
- Adjustability8/10
- Capacity headroom8/10
- Materials & warranty8/10
- Spec coverage9/10
The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

02 · The Alternative With a Named Standard
CAPOT Ergonomic Mesh Chair
9.8/10 · scored on the published rubric
The only chair on this site that answers all six rubric criteria from published figures: seat range, depth, width, 400 lb capacity, a five-year warranty and eight levels of 2 in lumbar travel. At $199.99 that is $40 per warranty year.
Why you might not: It tops out at 22.05 in. If you are over about 6 ft 2 in you will run out of seat height, whatever the listing's stated window says.
| Seat height | 18.5-22.05 in |
|---|---|
| Seat depth | 19.3 in |
| Seat width | 20 in |
| Rated capacity | 400 lb |
| Warranty | 5 years |
| Cost per warranty year | $32.00 |
| Maker's stated user height | 5 ft 5 in to 6 ft 2 in |
Adjustments published (5): seat height (18.5-22.05 in); lumbar depth (2 in over 8 levels); backrest lock at 90, 110 and 125 degrees; headrest height and depth; armrests flip up 90 degrees.
How this score was built
- Fit range9/10
- Adjustability10/10
- Capacity headroom10/10
- Materials & warranty10/10
- Spec coverage10/10
The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

03 · The Alternative With More Adjustment
ELABEST X100 Mesh Chair with Footrest
8.0/10 · scored on the published rubric
Five separately adjustable systems and a five-year warranty. The 18 in extendable footrest is a real footrest, not a foot ring, and it is the only one in our set whose length is published.
Why you might not: $349.99 makes it the most expensive chair on the site, and at $70 per warranty year the CAPOT is better value on our own arithmetic.
| Seat height | 18.3-23 in |
|---|---|
| Rated capacity | 300 lb |
| Footrest | adjustable |
| Warranty | 5 years |
| Cost per warranty year | $70.00 |
Adjustments published (6): seat height (18.3-23 in); lumbar height (2 in), depth (1.6 in) and 15-degree rotation, lockable; 5D armrests (height, width, forward, back, rotate), plus flip-up; 3D headrest (axes not specified); 18 in extendable footrest, two angles; three-stage recline.
Not published by the manufacturer: seat depth; seat width; headrest travel. We have flagged these rather than guessed.
How this score was built
- Fit range8/10
- Adjustability10/10
- Capacity headroom8/10
- Materials & warranty9/10
- Spec coverage5/10
The overall is the mean of these, rounded to one decimal place. Each criterion is computed from a published figure - the rubric is here.

Price as of October 6, 2026. #ad how this is funded
Questions people actually ask
Is the GABRYLLY chair good for tall people?
What is the GABRYLLY seat height and seat depth?
Is the GABRYLLY good for short users?
Does the GABRYLLY have adjustable lumbar support?
How far does the GABRYLLY recline?
What is the GABRYLLY warranty?
Have you tested the GABRYLLY?
Read next
Sources
Every figure on this page traces to one of these. Product specifications come from the manufacturer's own listing; prices come from a live lookup and carry the date they were verified.
- GABRYLLY GY01 - manufacturer's published specification on the Amazon listing
- Pheasant & Haslegrave, Bodyspace: Anthropometry, Ergonomics and the Design of Work - percentile table as tabulated by RoyMech
- OSHA eTool, Computer Workstations - Chairs
- ANSI/BIFMA X5.1, General Purpose Office Chairs - test summary (Micom Laboratories)